Cart 0
Dear Lucy

Dear Lucy

$21.15 USD

An enchanting narrator propels this unique first novel that will appeal to fans of Room and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time. Lucy is a young woman with an uncommon voice and unusual way of looking at the world. She would tell you that she is missing too many words, but despite her limitations she has a boundless zest for discovery and a deep desire to connect with those around her. Deserted by her vivacious, social-climbing mother, Lucy has been taken in by an older couple, known only as Mister and Missus, to work on their farm. There, she befriends a pregnant teenager named Samantha who tells conflicting stories about her past, but who finds an unlikely rapport with Lucy. Samantha wants to say something so I can understand it. Not just shake her head like flies are trying to land on her and say, I just don't know about you Lucy. That is all some other people do when I say things. When Samantha gives birth and the baby disappears, Lucy arms herself with Samantha's diary--and a talking chicken named Jennifer--and embarks on a journey to reunite mother and child. A luminous, heartbreaking story of love, family, and loyalty, Dear Lucy is fresh, exciting storytelling at its finest.

by : Julie Sarkissian


Share this Product


More from this collection